Has one of your customers asked to be forgotten? You may be legally obligated to remove this information from all of your systems, including GRAX backups. This is a common scenario that we hear from customers, and we have the tools to put this power in your hands. Deleting records from your GRAX datastores can be accomplished from within the GRAX user interface.
Do Not Modify Data Directly
The GRAX data storage layer is a proprietary, compressed, bit-level data store that is not human readable or editable. Never modify the dataset in storage yourself, including the deletion, modification, renaming, or moving of storage objects. All interaction with the stored data should occur via the GRAX application.
The option to permanently erase data from your GRAX backups is available on the GRAX record details page for all users with Administrator level permissions within GRAX. For more information about GRAX permissions management, see our documentation.
For the deletion option to appear, the record must be deleted or archived from Salesforce (only exists in GRAX storage).
To permanently and irreversibly delete a record from GRAX:
- Open the record you would like to delete, either via Search or direct link.
- Click "Delete Forever (GDPR)"
- Click "Proceed"
THIS IS UNRECOVERABLE
GRAX is the final storage location for this data. Once deleted, it is unrecoverable. You can never restore, preview, or search for this data again.
Deletion of data from the GRAX dataset may take a few minutes to complete, as the operation is asynchronous. Please be patient before confirming the deletion. This is not a mechanism by which canceling a deletion is possible. Once you've confirmed the deletion, the data will be destroyed.
GRAX History Stream is a feature wherein your GRAX data is extracted from the proprietary data layer and written into parallel Parquet files. Permanent deletion of records as described above does not extend to already-written Parquet files. Data emitted to History Stream will remain as written permanently unless manually modified by your administrators. Once a record is deleted, it will never be written to future Parquet files (i.e. if History Stream is newly enabled, reset, etc.).
If you are exfiltrating the History Stream results to another system, such as Redshit, Postgres, Tableau, etc., it is your responsibility to track down a compliant data deletion process for those systems.
Updated 6 days ago